Strategy & Operations » Leadership & Management » Be FD of the year

Last year John Smith of the BBC fought off strong competition to walk away with the coveted Financial Director of the Year award, sponsored by FSS Financial, at the Accountancy Age Awards for excellence.

This year it could be you or one of your divisional or subsidiary FDs that receives the award in front of a packed house at the Natural History Museum in London.

This award is for professional excellence in financial management, and is open to entrants from any field of industry, commerce or public services.

The judges will be looking for evidence of substantial financial achievement, such as a particular contribution to the creation of shareholder value, improvements in efficiency and high-quality service. In the course of their achievements, the winner will be expected to have displayed the qualities of enterprise, integrity, imagination and leadership.

The calibre of entrants for the award has always been high, and last year Peter Anderson of Canary Wharf and Gaynor Coley of The Eden Project made the shortlist. But for those of you who are too modest to enter yourself (though we do urge you to enter) you may want to consider entering one of your colleagues in recognition of their hard work.

Previous winners and shortlisted entrants include:

2001 Financial Director of the Year: John Smith, BBC
Shortlisted: Peter Anderson, Canary Wharf; Gaynor Coley, The Eden Project

2000 Financial Director of the Year: Craig Bennett, The Caudwell Group
Shortlisted: Keith Greenhalgh, Capital Interactive; Phil Pacey, Great North Eastern Railway

1999 Financial Director of the Year: Graham Howe, Orange
Shortlisted: Craig Bennett, The Caudwell Group; Aidan Hughes, Sage Group; James Mackey, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust

For full details of how to enter the Financial Director of the Year award, or any of the other awards for excellence, including Finance Team of the Year and Annual Report and Accounts, click here Closing date for entries for entries is 26 July 2002.